SOL – Diversity in the Classroom

Often we talk about inclusion in the classroom. Most of the times we refer to ‘leveling the playing field’ for all learners so that everyone can participate and access educational opportunities. As a second language teacher in an international setting, I also think about cultural inclusion. In a way, I take this for granted given that I am a third culture individual myself while working in a culturally and linguistically diverse environment. I interpret the world around through my own cultural filter even though I have participated in various cultures. I wonder how learners experience cultural diversity in their learning environment. I also wonder if we, as teachers, promote a culture of acceptance and inclusion in which we show genuine appreciation of diversity. Personally, I believe diversity is a strength and it allows us all to come together and bring the best of us to participate and contribute to the community.

2 Comments

  1. Cultural inclusion is so important and can be initiated in so many small, relatively easy ways, which hopefully have a long lasting impact. It is so important for our learners to see their culture valued. As global nomads it is interesting to see the patchwork we become and our shifting definitions of ideas like “home”, “usual”, “diversity” and more. You always make me think, which is good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

